POST TIME: 4 September, 2021 09:59:20 PM / LAST MODIFIED: 5 September, 2021 05:30:41 PM
AL candidate wins Sylhet-3 by-election

AL candidate wins Sylhet-3 by-election

Awami League candidate Habibur Rahman Habib won the Sylhet-3 by-polls in unofficial results received on Saturday, beating his nearest rival Jatiya Party’s Atikur Rahman Atik by a huge margin.

According to unofficial results Habib bagged 89,705 votes in the constituency consisting three upazilas of Dakkhin Surma, Fenchuganj and Balaganj. Atik got only 24,604 votes.

Voting through the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) began at 8 am in 149 centres and continued till 4pm without any break, said regional election officer Foysal Quader.

Deputy Commissioner and returning officer Kazi Emdadul Islam estimated that between 30 and 40 per cent voters cast their ballots.

The constituency fell vacant after its MP Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury succumbed to Covid on March 11.

The by-poll was deferred twice due to a surge in Covid-19 cases.

Junaid Mohammad Mia of Bangladesh Congress and independent Shafi Ahmed Chowdhury were the two other candidates in the fray.

Some 3.5 lakh people were eligible to vote in the by-poll.