POST TIME: 23 June, 2021 11:37:20 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 24 June, 2021 10:12:00 AM
204 UP elections: 148 AL chairman candidates win
UNB, Dhaka

204 UP elections: 148 AL chairman candidates win

Awami League-nominated chairman candidates, including 28 unopposed contenders won in 148 Union Parishads (UP) out of 204 that went to election on Monday.

Besides, 49 independent chairman contenders, 3 chairman contesters each from Jatiya Party (Ershad) and Jatiya Party-JP (Manju) and one from Islami Andolan Bangladesh were elected in the remaining UPs, according to the factsheet of the Election Commission.

Another major political party BNP didn’t participate in the election.

The average turnout of the voters was 64.73 percent in the first phase election to 204 UPs. The highest voter turnout of 82.75 percent was in Chandradwip UP of Bauphal upazila under Patuakhali district, while the lowest voter turnout of 49.57 percent was in Binaykathi UP of Jhalokathi Sadar Upazila.

Though the EC announced the election schedule for 204 UPs, AL’s chairman candidates were earlier elected unopposed in 28 UPs, finding no rival candidate against their respective posts.

So, polls to the chairman posts were held in the remaining 176 UPs.

Most of the independent chairman contenders who got elected are known as AL’s rebel candidates.