POST TIME: 13 January, 2021 10:52:49 PM / LAST MODIFIED: 14 January, 2021 03:04:22 PM
4th phase municipal polls: AL announces candidates
UNB, Dhaka

4th phase municipal polls: AL announces candidates

Awami League on Wednesday announced the names of 56 mayoral candidates for the fourth phase municipal elections scheduled to be held on February 14.

The announcement came after a meeting of the ruling party’s Local Government Representative Nomination Board, held at Ganobhaban with AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

Awami League declared its nominated mayoral candidates for four municipalities in Rangpur Division, nine municipalities in Rajshahi Division, six municipalities in Khulna Division, three municipalities in Barishal Division, 13 in Dhaka Division, five in Mymensingh Division, two in Sylhet Division and 14 in Chattogram Division, according to press release issued by the party.

The deadline for submission of nomination papers is January 17.

According to the schedule, the date for scrutiny of nomination papers is January 19 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is January 26.

Among the 56 municipalities, Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in polls to 31 municipalities, while 25 others will see the use of traditional ballot papers.

The first phase election to 24 municipalities was held on December 28 last year, while the second phase election to 61 municipalities will be held on January 16 and the third phase polls to 64 municipalities on January 30.