POST TIME: 18 November, 2019 00:00 00 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 18 November, 2019 01:51:37 AM
Dhaka ropes in Mash, Tamim, Afridi

Dhaka ropes in Mash, Tamim, Afridi

Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon roped in the highest number of famed players from local and foreign repertoire in the Players’ Draft of the Bangabandhu-Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) held at Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden Hotel in the capital yesterday. The Dhaka Platoon picked three players from A-Plus Category -- two in the form of Tamim Iqbal and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, while another one from the overseas category was drafted in the form of ‘Boom Boom’ Shahid Afridi to add glitz to the team combination.

Amongst the local players, Mashrafe remained unpicked till the third set of calling that surprised almost all. The mercurial captain was finally picked by Dhaka Platoon to utilise his vast cricketing experience for the team’s success.

The team then went on to buy Anamul Haque Bijoy (B), Hasan Mahmud (E), Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Ariful Haque, Mominul Haque, Shuvagata Hom, Raqibul Hasan, Jaker Ali Anik from the local stock, while Thisra Perera, Laurie Evans, Wahab Riaz and Asif Ali were picked from the foreign category.

Amid the obvious absence of ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, everybody was avidly waiting for the first set of local players’ call in the Bangabandhu BPL Players’ Draft, which was quelled when Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Director and Khulna Tigers Team Director Khaled Mahmud Sujon took the privilege of making the first call.

In this regard, wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim was the luckiest player to have earned the first call of the 2019 players’ draft.

Of the foreign players, Chris Gayle was the first player to get picked by Chattogram Challengers, while crowd-charming Afridi of Pakistan was the last foreign player to get included in Dhaka Platoon.

BCB President Nazmul Hassan Papon’s welcome speech opened the proceedings of the players’ draft of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

BCB Director and BPL Draft Commissioner Mahbubul Anam finalised the process of the players’ draft-2019 through lottery with three types of balls -- Red, Blue and Green.

Anam was flanked by Alamgir Hossain Alo, Ismail Haider Mallick, Kazi Inam Ahmed, Major (retd) Majur Kader, Sheikh Sohel, Hanif Bhuiyan, Shaiful Islam Chowdhury Shawpan on the podium.

This year, a total of 181 local players under six different bands got their names enlisted for the BPL players’ draft, from where Kazi Anik’s name was scraped and Salahuddin Shakil was included at the eleventh hour. Along with that, Shoaib Malik was dropped before the outset of the Draft and Robin Das of England was included in place of Shoaib.

A total of 439 foreign players from 22 different countries were enlisted for the BPL players’ draft, wherein the highest number of 95 players were from England and the lowest number, a single player each was from New Zealand, Namibia, Holland and Germany. The team squad size was minimum 15 players (with local nine and overseas six) and maximum 19 players (with local 11 and overseas eight). Each team can recruit minimum of nine and maximum of 11 local players from players’ draft as per the current rules and regulations of the BPL.

Although the names of the coaches of the teams was not finally announced by the BCB, West Indian coach Ottis Gibson, Zimbabwean coach Grant Flower, Wais Shah among the overseas coaches were seen at the table of the players’ draft along with locals Sarwar Imran and Mohammad Salahuddin.

Ottis Gibson will be seen with Cumilla Warriors, who will be guided by Naimur Rahman Durjoy as Team Director. Grant Flower will be seen with Rangpur Rangers, who will get the services of Akram Khan as Team Director. Habibul Bashar Sumon will also work for them.

Wais Shah will coach Rajshahi Royals, while Sarwar Imran and Mohammad Salahuddin will supervise Sylhet Thunders and Dhaka Platoon respectively.

BCB Directors Jalal Younus, Enayet Hossain Siraj, Tanjil Chowdhury and Gulam Murtaza Pappa will act as Team Directors of Chattogram Challengers, Rajshahi Royals, Sylhet Thunders, Dhaka Platoon correspondingly coupled with Akram Khan and Naimur Rahman Durjoy.

Local players

Dhaka Platoon- Tamim Iqbal (A+), Anamul Haque Bijoy (B), Hasan Mahmud (E), Mahedi Hasan, Ariful Haque, Mominul Haque, Shuvagata Hom, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Raqibul Hasan, Thisra Perera, Laurie Evans,Wahab Riaz, Asif Ali, Jaker Ali Anik, Shahid Afridi.

Khulna Tigers- Mushfiqur Rahim (A+), Shafiul Islam (B), Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Aminul Islam Biplob, Shamsur Rahman, Mohammad Saif Hasan, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Sahidul Islam, Allis Al Islam, Tanvir Islam, Rilee Rossouw, Robie Frylinck, Mohammad Amir, Nazibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz,

Rajshahi Royals- Liton Das (A), Afif Hossain (B), Abu Jayed Rahi, Farhad Reza, Taijul Islam, Alok Kapali, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Irfan Shukkur, Minhazul Abedin Afridi, Nahidul Islam, Ravi Bopara, Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Irfan,

Chattogram Challengers- Mahmudullah Riyad, Imrul Kayes, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Qazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Enamul Haque Jnr, Muktar Ali, Pinak Ghosh, Masum Ahmad, Junaed Siddiui, Christopher Henry Gayle, Kesrick Williams, Aviska Fernandez, Ryad Emrit, Ryan Burl, Imad Wasim,

Cumilla Warriors- Soumya Sarker (A), Al Amin Hossain (B), Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Sabbir Rahman, Sunzamul Islam, Abu Haider Rony, Mahidul Ankon, Sumon Khan, Fardin Hossain Ani, Kushal Perera, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dawid Malan, Dashun Shanaka,

Rangpur Rangers- Mustafizur Rahman(A), Naim Shiekh (C), Arafat Sunny, Jahurul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Zakir Hasan, Fazley Rabbi, Nadif Chowdhury, Sanjit Saha, Mohammad Nabi, Shai Hope, Lewis Gregory, Cameron Delport,

Sylhet Thunders- Mosaddek Hossain Saikat (A), Mohammad Mithun (A), Nazmul Islam Apu (B), Sohag Gazi, Rony Talukder, Nayeem Hasan, Delwoar Hossain, Monir Hossain Khan, Rubel Mia, Sherfane Rutherford, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Naveen Ul Haque, Johnson Charles, Jeevan Mendis.