POST TIME: 10 November, 2019 00:00 00 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 9 November, 2019 11:28:54 PM
PM to open 7 power plants on Nov 13
BSS, Dhaka

PM to open 7 power plants on Nov 13

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will inaugurate seven power plants and 23 specialized electrification projects for ensuring cent percent power coverage in 23 upazilas on November 13. “Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will inaugurate these power plants along with 100 percent power supply of 23 upazilas through videoconferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence at 10 am on November 13,” Director (Public Relations) of Bangladesh Power Development Board (BPDB) Saiful Hasan Chowdhury told BSS yesterday.

He said the seven power plants are: Anwara 300 MW Power Plant, Rangpur 113 MW Power Plant, Karnaphuli 110 MW Power Plant, Shikalbaha 105 MW Power Plant, Patia 54 MW Power Plant, Tetulia 8 MW Solar Power Plant and Gazipur 100 MW Power Plant.

“The government is moving fast to reach its goal of 24,000 MW power generation capacity by 2021 and to this end the premier has given consent to inaugurate the seven power plants along with 100 percent electrification coverage of 23 upazilas,” Saiful said.

The 23 upazilas which came under cent percent power coverage are: Gabtali, Sherpur and Shibganj in Bogura district, Lohagara in Chattogram, Madhukhali, Nagarkanda and Saltha in Faridpur district, Fulchhari, Gaibandha Sadar and Palashbari in Gaibandha district, Madhappur and Nabiganj in Habiganj district,

Kaliganj and Maheshpur in Jhenaidah district, Karimganj under Kishoreganj, Baraigram, Lalpur and Singra under Natore district, Barhatta and Mahonganj in Netrakona district, Bhandaria, Kaukhali and Indurkani under Pirojpur district.