POST TIME: 29 November, 2019 09:25:44 AM
‘Munier Chy and Mohammad Zakaria Memorial Award 2019’ conferred
DL desk, Dhaka

‘Munier Chy and Mohammad Zakaria Memorial Award 2019’ conferred

Award recipients pose for a photo with guests at the programme. Photo l Courtesy

Two prestigious awards in memories of two iconic personalities titled ‘Munier Chowdhury Award 2019’ and ‘Mohammad Zakaria Memorial Award 2019’ were distributed at a programme at Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy (BSA) in the capital on Wednesday.

Marking the 84th birth anniversary of martyred intellectual Professor Munier Chowdhury, a commemorative programme was organised by Theatre, a prominent theatre troupe of the country.

This year, Professor Shafi Ahmed received the ‘Munier Chowdhury Award’, while actor-scriptwriter-director Shishir Rahman was awarded the ‘Mohammad Zakaria Memorial Award’.

Sponsored by IFIC Bank, the recipient of ‘Munier Chowdhury Award’ also received fifty thousand taka, while the winner of ‘Mohammad Zakaria Award’ received twenty five thousand taka.

Chaired by Theatre President Ferdausi Majumdar, eminent educationist Professor Sirajul Islam Chowdhury attended the event as chief guest and handed over the awards to the recipients.

During the second part of the event, Munier Chowdhury’s two one-act plays—‘Swami Saheber Onoshon Broto’ directed by Khurshid Alam and ‘Gotokal Eid Chhilo’ by Tanjum Ara Polli were staged by Theatre.

Since the inception in 1989, ‘Munier Chowdhury Award’ has been given to Mohammad Zakaria, Amalendu Biswas (Posthumas), Abdullah Al-Mamun, Nagorik Natya Sampraday, Syed Jamil Ahmed, Ramendu Majumdar, Muktodhara, Sayeed Ahmed, Ferdausi Majumdar, Syed Shamsul Haq, Ataur Rahman, Mamunur Rashid, Nasiruddin Yousuff, Selim Al-Deen, Aly Zaker, Nikhil Sen, Asaduzzaman Noor, Zia Haidar, Moloy Bhowmick, Parthoprotim Majumdar, Abdus Selim, Monoj Mitra, Aronnok Natto Dol, Liaquat Ali Lucky, Mrittika Chakma, M Hamid, Keramat Mowla, Ishrafeel Shaheen and Devjit Bandyopadhyay.

To inspire younger talents, ‘Mohammad Zakaria Award’ was introduced in 1997 and so far it was awarded to a big number of young people. l