POST TIME: 15 November, 2019 00:00 00 AM
Tawhid’s sparkling ton helps Bangladesh U-19 take 2-0 lead
Sports Reporter, Dhaka

Tawhid’s sparkling ton helps Bangladesh U-19 take 2-0 lead

Tawhid Hridoy smashed an unbeaten 123 as Bangladesh pulled off a big margin of 161-run win over visiting Sri Lanka Under-19 cricket team in the third match of the five-match youth ODI series at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram yesterday. By virtue of winning the match, the hosts consolidated their lead 2-0 after the opening match of the series in Khulna was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Bangladesh posted a record of 340 for seven in their stipulated 50 overs after which Sri Lanka folded for measly 179 in 31.2 overs. Put in to bat, Bangladesh fumbled in the initial fourth over when they mislaid Parvez Hossain but they did not look back further. Tanzim Hasan Tamim tackled the tethering trouble in right way and hit 79 runs with Mahmudul Hasan Joy for the second-wicket stand. Both batsmen walked back to the pavilion after being brought up their half-century. Tamim made 60 and Joy struck 52, while Bangladesh were on 142 for three.

Tawhid Hridoy took the rudder and focused on extending the total further and clubbed a string of successful partnerships that compiled 7-340, the highest score of any Bangladesh team irrespective of condition. Together with Akbar Ali, Tawhid added the highest 107 runs for the fifth-wicket en route to his indefatigable 123. Akbar also notched up half-century after Tamim and Joy. He (Albar) smacked five fours and a six in his 43-ball 52.

Man of the match Hridoy played 98 balls to make 123, laced with half-a-dozen big shots over the boundary along with eight fours. Dilshan Madushanka and Kavindu Nadeeshan snapped up two wickets each for the visitors. In reply, Sri Lanka Under-19 made a good start through their opening stand of Mohammad Samaaz and ND Paranavithana as they put on 64 before being caught Mohammad Samaaz for 29. By then, the wickets were falling regularly for the tourists. ND Paranavithana among the falling wickets scored the highest of 50 for the Islanders. Avishka Perera made the second best of 30.

Left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib claimed two wickets apiece for the winners.