POST TIME: 15 November, 2019 00:00 00 AM
Sponsors name five BPL teams
BCB to announce two other remaining teams
Sports Reporter, Dhaka

Sponsors name five BPL teams

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Governing Council (GB) has finalised the list of local and foreign players with the salary slabs coupled with its category for the upcoming Bangabandhu- BPL, run by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) without franchisee. This year the BCB has enlisted the number of local players more than the previous editions. It was 185 last year but it has been increased to 209. Along with that, they have increased the base price in some slabs.

There are six set salary bands including A-plus, A, B, C, D and E. The salary band of the A-plus category has been estimated from Tk 40-75 lakh what was Tk 40-65 lakh in the previous edition. But the salary band of the A category has been fixed at Tk 25-35 lakh. The number of players in this bracket is 14.

Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mahmudullah Riyad and Mustafizur Rahman are in A-plus category, while A category has been comprised of Mehidy Hasan Miraj, Liton Kumar Das, Mominul Haque, Taijul Islam, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Saifuddin and Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi.

But the salary band of the remaining categories will remain alike. The salary slab of the E category will be started from Tk five lakh. The BPL players’ draft is scheduled to be held at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Dhaka on November 17 (Sunday). The BCB has already finalized the five sponsor partners of the BPL teams for the upcoming edition, which has been named after the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. The sponsor partners are Jamuna Bank, Jivani footwear company, IPC and Akhtar Group coupled with Mind Tree, all confirmed by the board.

But the BCB will not seek any sponsor partners for the rest of the two teams because the board itself will run those two teams and stay as their sponsor partners. Sponsor organizations have so far released their team names. Jamuna Bank has named the Dhaka team as 'Dhaka Nawab' while Chattogram team sponsor Akhtar Group has named their team ‘Chattogram Challengers’. The Sylhet team has been named ‘Sylhet Thunders’ by the sponsor Jivani Footwear Company.

In addition, IPC has named after the Rajshahi team as ‘Rajshahi Runner’. Although Mind Tree has become the sponsor for the Khulna team, they have not selected a name yet.

Along with that, the BCB also finalized almost the names of the six board directors who will play as team director in the ensuing Bangabandhu-BPL. It is learnt from the close sources of the board that the names of the six directors have almost been finalized.

The logo of the Bangabandhu BPL will also be unveiled at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel on Saturday (at 6:00pm). It will be learnt from the programme who is going to be the title sponsor of the 2019 BPL.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to inaugurate the opening ceremony of the Bangabandhu-BPL, 2019 on December 8. But the domestic Twenty20 flagship cricket tournament, hosted by two venues in Dhaka and Chattogram, will get underway on December 11, three days after its grand opening.