POST TIME: 4 November, 2019 00:00 00 AM
Nepal replace UAE in Emerging Asia Cup

Nepal replace UAE in
Emerging Asia Cup

Asian Cricket Council (ACC) scrapped United Arab Emirates (UAE) from the ensuing edition of the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup-2019, hosted by Bangladesh from November 12.

The ACC did not want to change the format and fixture of the tournament within the shortest possible time. And so, the apex body of the Asian cricket picked Nepal in place of UAE. The participating teams, splitting into two groups, will take part in the eight-nation tournament, which will end on November 23.

Freshly included Nepal will play in Group-B with India, Hong Kong and the host Bangladesh. Group A has been comprised of Pakistan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Oman.  

It is learnt from the organiser of the host nation that the UAE is not participating this year edition in Bangladesh due to their internal problem. It is also learnt that the bulk of the players will be engaged in T10. Some of their players are suspended for different issues. For this, the UAE have no players to play for Emerging Teams Cup.

Finally the Emirates Cricket Board wanted to dispatch their second string team to play the tournament but the ACC did not agree. They later included Nepal in place of UAE.

All the teams are slated to arrive here in Dhaka on November 10, two days before the outset of the tournament which will evolve through Twenty20 format of games.

Matches of the tournament will be played at five different venues of Dhaka and out of Dhaka. Of them, Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium (SKICS) and its Academy Ground-in Cox’s Bazar along with BKSP Ground-3 and 4 will feature all the group-phase matches of all the Asian competition.

Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium will feature both the semifinals and the final matches. Each day four matches will be played. There will be a day gap between the matches.

Matches will be held on November 14, 16 and 18 respectively. The semifinals of the meet will be decided on November 20 and 21 correspondingly. The final of the 10-day tournament will stage at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Mirpur on November 23, the match which will be telecast live by StarSports.

In the Group-B matches, Bangladesh will take on Hong Kong in the opening day clash at the BKSP-4, while India will compete against Nepal in lieu of United Arab Emirates (UAE) at the BKSP-3.

Pakistan will face off Afghanistan at SKICS and Sri Lanka will vie against Oman at the SKICS Academy Ground in the Group-A.