POST TIME: 21 October, 2019 00:00 00 AM
HC gets nine new judges

HC gets nine
new judges

The government has appointed nine additional judges to the High Court division for the term of two years. The law ministry issued a notification yesterday in this regard following the approval of President Md. Abdul Hamid under Article 98 of the Constitution, according to a notification issued by the law ministry. Md Saifur Rahman, special officer of the Supreme Court, said that Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain would administer oath to the newly-appointed judges today (Monday morning). Among the nine judges, the government has appointed four lower court judges, three deputy attorney generals and two Supreme Court lawyers as the additional judges of the HC for next two years. The new judges are -- District and Sessions Judge Muhammad Mahbub-ul-Islam, District and Sessions Judge Shahed Nuruddin, Supreme Court Registrar General Dr Md Zakir Hossain, District and Sessions Judge Md Akhtaruzzaman, Advocate Md Mahmud Hasan Talukder, Advocate Kazi Ebadat Hossain, Deputy Attorney General KM Zahid Sarwar, Deputy Attorney General AKM Zahirul Haque and Deputy Attorney General Kazi Zinat Hoque. With the latest appointment, the number of High Court judges has reached the 100 mark.