POST TIME: 18 October, 2019 00:00 00 AM
Channel i to air special show today
One year of AB’s demise
DL reporter, Dhaka

One year of 
AB’s demise

Today is the first death anniversary of Ayub Bachchu, one of the most talented musicians the country has ever produced. Known as AB among his fans and audience, the legendary guitarist-songwriter-composer-singer and the frontman of popular band LRB died of cardiac failure on October 18 last year. In remembrance of AB, Channel i is going to telecast a special show titled ‘Smritir Dahan’ today at 4pm.

Presenting in the show, the founder members of LRB, SI Tutul, Sayeed Hasan Swapan, Latifur Rahman Shibly and Bappi Khan will recall their memories with Ayub Bachchu. The show also features a few old songs from the early days of LRB. Produced by Jamal Reza, the show is anchored by Tanvir Tareq.

Born on August 16, 1962, AB started his music career from his birthplace Chattogram with then popular band Feelings in 1978. Later in 1980, he joined the band Souls, one of the pioneers in the band movement of Bangladesh.

In 1991, AB left Souls after 10 long years of practice for perfection, and formed LRB (Love Runs Blind). The band released its first album as a double album, which contained hard rock songs like ‘Ghum Bhanga Shohore’, ‘Madhobi’ and ‘Hoker’, ‘Sesh Cithi Keno Amon Cithi Hoy’, ‘Happy’ and ‘Dhakar Sondha’.

In 1993, LRB released their album ‘Sukh’ featuring hard rock, blues, rock songs .The album became one of the greatest hits in Bangladesh.

LRB’s other albums include “’akto Golap’ (1986), ‘Moyna’ (1989), ‘Kosto’ (1995), ‘Shomoy’ (1998), ‘Eka’ (1999), ‘Prem Tumi Ki?’ (2000), ‘Duti Mon’ (2002), ‘Kafela’ (2002), ‘Prem Premer Moto’ (2003), ‘Pother Gaan’ (2004), ‘Vaatir Gaane Maatir Taane’ (2006), ‘Jibon’ (2006), ‘Sound of Silence’ (instrumental) (2007), ‘Rimjhim Brishti’ (2008), ‘Bolini Kokhono’ (2009) and ‘Jiboner Golpo’ (2015). l

Photo l jaki zaman