POST TIME: 17 July, 2019 01:13:02 AM
Taijul, Anamul recalled to Tigers ODI squad

Taijul, Anamul recalled 
to Tigers ODI squad

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam and wicketkeeper-batsman Anamul Haque Bijoy staged a comeback to the national team when Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) included their names in  a 14-member Tigers squad for the ensuing bilateral series in Sri Lanka.

The left-arm-spinner last time played his ODI game against Afghanistan in September 2016, while the wicketkeeper-batsman played his last ODI game against the West Indies in July 2018.

Currently Taijul went to India with BCB XI to play Dr (Capt) Thirammpaih Memorial All India Invitational Cricket Tournament, where he grabbed eight-wicket haul and Bijoy played against Afghanistan A, where he smoked a century, the feat that helped them include in the squad.

A total of three players including fast bowler Abu Jayed Rahi dropped from the World Cup squad. Citing personal reasons, Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Kumar Das withdrew them from the short series of the island nation.

“We’ve given a 14-member squad for the Sri Lanka series, where there will have three one-day international matches that are important just after the World Cup. So, we didn’t bring any big change in the squad from the World Cup squad,” said BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu.

“As Shakib and Liton are not included, we’ve given two players as their replacement. Both the players have been picked out of the World Cup squad,” Nannu told media at the main entrance of the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur yesterday.     

“We’d needed a left-arm spinner in place of Shakib. So, we’ve picked Taijul Islam, who is in India playing with BCB XI. With him, Anamul Haque Bijoy is also going with the team as the replacement of Liton,” he added.

Later the chief selector provided additional explanation for selecting them in the squad beside some possible names the likes of Imrul Kayes.

“He (Taijul) is consistently playing better cricket at domestic cricket regardless of longer version and one day format. In that sense, we’ve picked him for the series. We’ve talked about our HP coach before picking him for the series,” Minhajul said of Taijul.

We’d needed a batsman in top-order. For this, we’ve included Anamul Haque Bijoy,” he said of Bijoy.

“Imrul played three innings here where he did not fare well. We’ve discussed with our HP coach in this regard. Along with that, the batsmen we’ve in top-order line-up both are left-handed. So, we’d needed to take a right-handed batsman. And so, we’ve picked Bijoy,” he added.

 The announced team will have a three-day camp at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium from 17-19 July before departing for Colombo on July 20. Today the camp will start at 3:00pm.

They will play a practice match on July 23 before heading into the main three-match ODI series. All the games of the series will be played at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo on July 26, 28 and 31 respectively.

Bangladesh squad:  Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya  Sarkar, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin and Mustafizur Rahman.