POST TIME: 24 June, 2019 12:44:02 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 24 June, 2019 05:13:23 PM
BNP expels a dozen JCD protesters
JCD nat’l council on July 15
UNB, Dhaka

BNP expels a dozen JCD protesters

The BNP on Saturday night expelled a dozen demonstrating leaders of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal's (JCD) recently dissolved committee for breaching party discipline. A press release, signed by BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, said the 12 leaders were stripped off all JCD posts, including primary memberships.

Those who were expelled include Bashar Siddiqui, General Secretary of Dhaka University unit Chhatra Dal, Zahiruddin Tuhin, President of Dhaka Metropolitan South unit Chhatra Dal, Ejmol Hossain Pilot, Iktiar Kabir, Joydev Joy, Mamun Billah, vice-presidents of recently dissolved central committee, Asaduzzaman Asad and Bayezid Arefin, former joint-secretaries of the student front, Dabir Uddin Tushar, former assistant general secretary, Abdul Malek, Golam Azam Shoikot, former assistant organising secretaries, and Azim Pawari, member of the dissolved committee.

Earlier in the day, the aggrieved leaders of the recently dissolved committee announced to continue their demonstration until their demand for either formation of a new short-term committee or the removal of age limit is met.

Our staff reporter adds: The national council of the Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD), the student wing of the BNP, will be held on July 15 to form the body's new central committee through election.

Leader of the search committee, formed earlier to constitute the new JCD committee, Shamsuzzaman Dudu, announced the date for the JCD national council at a press conference at the BNP central office in the city.

JCD election management committee convener Khairul Kabir Khokon, who was present at the press conference, announced the election schedule for the central committee.

The election will be held to the posts of president and secretary. The voter list will be published on Monday. The contestants have to vie for posts maintaining the age limit, Khokn told reporters.

According to the schedule, the voter list will be published on Monday. The draft list of candidates will be published on July 4. The final list will be published on July 7.