POST TIME: 23 June, 2019 11:24:25 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 23 June, 2019 11:29:38 AM
BNP expels a dozen JCD demonstrators
Independent Online/ UNB

BNP expels a dozen JCD demonstrators

Aggrieved leaders of the recently dissolved committee of JCD announced to continue demonstration until their demand is met. Photo: UNB

The BNP on Saturday night expelled a dozen demonstrating leaders of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal's (JCD) recently dissolved committee for breaching party discipline.

A press release, signed by BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, said the 12 leaders were stripped off all JCD posts, including primary memberships.

Those who were expelled include Bashar Siddiqui, General Secretary of Dhaka University unit Chhatra Dal, Zahiruddin Tuhin, President of Dhaka Metropolitan South unit Chhatra Dal, Ejmol Hossain Pilot, Iktiar Kabir, Joydev Joy, Mamun Billah, vice-presidents of recently dissolved central committee, Asaduzzaman Asad and Bayezid Arefin, former joint-secretaries of the student front, Dabir Uddin Tushar, former assistant general secretary, Abdul Malek, Golam Azam Shoikot, former assistant organising secretaries, and Azim Pawari, member of the dissolved committee.

Earlier in the day, the aggrieved leaders of the recently dissolved committee announced to continue their demonstration until their demand for either formation of a new short-term committee or the removal of age limit is met.