POST TIME: 20 March, 2019 00:00 00 AM
Rupganj halt MSC winning spree
Prime Bank topple Sheikh Jamal
Sports Reporter, Dhaka

Rupganj halt MSC winning spree

Legends of Rupganj broke Mohammedan Sporting Club’s three-match winning streak by tucking past them with four-wicket victory in their fairly-contested high-scoring encounter of the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur yesterday.

Chasing the target of 295, Legends of Rupganj though lost Azmir Ahmed and Mohammad Naim inside seven overs, the third-wicket partnership of Mominul Haque and Shahriar Nafees brought them back in winning race.

Unlike Soumya, Mithun and Shadman, Mominul Haque played his first DPL game and made 55 before beight caught behind. Just five runs later, Shahriar Nafees also trudged back to the pavilion having caught and bowled by Shafiul Islam, the dismissal that made a possibility of falling backfoot.

Captain Naeem Islam played a pivotal role to snatch the victory of the see-saw match. The old campaigner forged a couple of successful partnerships en route to his 85. Naeem clobbered 85 off 92 with the help of eight boundaries and later he was named player of the match.

Fast-bowler Shafiul Islam took two wickets for Mohammedan.   

Earlier, Abdul Mazid’s 107 and Nadif Chowdhury’s 64 guided Mohammedan Sporting Club to compile 295 for seven in their stipulated 50 overs.

After losing Avishek Mitra and Tushar Imran, Abdul Mazid made a gritty resistance against Legends’ bowlers whose attack spearheaded by Mohammad Sohid. He stitched together the innings by a string of partnerships on way to his 107. He added 54 third-wicket with Rokibul Hasan, who fell for 29, another 46 fourth-wicket with Irfan Sukkur, who got out for 25 and a blistering 83 fifth-wicket with Nadif Chowdhury, who blasted 64 off 47 with four sixes and as many fours.

Mazid racked up his century off 118 balls when he slammed Mohammad Sohid for boundarry. Finally he was out for 105 when he was caught off by Nabil Samad on mid-off.   Sohag Gazi (17) and  Chaturanga de Silva (not out 23) were the other contributors to put on 295 for seven on board.  

Elsewhere at BKSP) Ground-3 in Savar, Prime Bank Cricket Club posted a 29-run win over Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by DLS method in the rain-intervened high-scoring affair of the day.

Chasing the steep target of 245, Sheikh Jamal fumbled to lose three wickets at the cost of the 59 runs. Nasir Hossain paired Nurul Hasan Sohan and hit 118  for the fourth-wicket that produced a glimmer of hopes. Nasir made a run-a-ball 76 with 10 fours and two sixes. Then Sohan hit an unbeaten 31 with Tanvir Haider, at this stage, the rain intervened and later umpired announced Prime Bank winners as per the DLS method.

Earlier, centuries by Anamul Haque Bijoy and Abhimanyu Easwaran steered Prime Bank Cricket Club to pile on a staggering 344-6 against Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club.

On-song Bijoy continued his imperious form as he smashed another brilliant century. This was his successive second hundred after 100* against Legends of Rupganj and overall 11th in his List-A career. His 120-ball knock of 101 littered with eight boundaries before having caught by Shahidul Islam off Tanvir Haider.