POST TIME: 18 February, 2019 00:00 00 AM
CCDM retains ‘Players by Choice’ system
DPL players draft today
Sports Reporter, Dhaka

CCDM retains ‘Players by Choice’ system

The Dhaka Premier League (DPL), the country’s most coveted domestic tournament is all set to gain the momentum through a ‘Players Draft’ today at a local hotel in the city.

Like the previous three occasions, the clubs will recruit the players through ‘Players by Choice’ system, which is termed as ‘Players Draft’. Since the current system replaced the traditional ‘Inter-club players transfer’ system, it produces huge controversy as the players’ has no say or personal choice in this system.

The Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis (CCDM), the guardian of the Dhaka clubs prepared their final list for the DPL players’ draft.

Initially, the apex body of the country’s domestic cricket club enlisted 269 players’ names including 9 players in A+ category, 25 for A, 30 for B+, 35 for B, 30 for C+, 45 for C and 95 for D in the players’ draft from where they deducted 36 players who were retained by the participating 12 club’s teams.

That’s meant, a total of 233 players under seven categories has been enlisted for the players’ draft.

12 clubs will take part in the Draft process with Uttara Sporting Club and BKSP the new edition in this season. Uttara confirmed the service of Nazmul Islam Apu, Sabbir Rahman Rumman and Sunzamul Islam as three retained players while BKSP kept their possession of their uprising disciples Shamim Hossain Patwary, Akbar Ali and Mohammad Parvez Hossain Emon, the trio who played for Bangladesh Under-19 cricket team.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraj, Nasir Hossain, Liton Kumar Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman have been drawn in the A+ category, with price range from 25-35 lakh taka after Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim along with injured Shakib Al Hasan pulled out of their names from this DPL for their preparation ahead of the ICC World Cup, England and Wales-2019 which will be played in between May and July.

Only Mashrafe and Mahmudullah will draw the highest amount of Tk. 35 lakh.

Of them, Abahani Club Limited retained Mashrafe and Imrul was retained by Gazi Group Cricketers.

The rest of the seven players have been enlisted for the players’ draft. Mustafizur Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraj and Liton Kumar Das will next play Test series after ODI series against Kiwis in New Zealand.

If any team picks any of them from the DPL players’ draft, they will get their service after March 21 because Bangladesh will finish their New Zealand tour on March 20. They will return home from New Zealand on March 21.

Since most of the national players will be absent in initial part of the league, while top three players will be missing throughout the tournament, it turned out to be little of off-colour.

“The tournament becomes pale without good players but it is also a part of cricket. You have to admit it,” said BCB director and Abahani head coach Khaled Mahmud Sujon.

“If you wait for national team players then the Dhaka League will never be started. Our season is short-lived. If we wait for their return from New Zealand, then the league would not end in time. So, it is important. It is also a right time for CCDM. It happens in the whole world. How much Ranji Trophy games the Indian players play? How much chances they get? I hope new players will get chance, though the tournament has lost its grandeur. It is the big thing.  It is the chance for them [who get opportunity] to prove themselves.”