POST TIME: 18 February, 2019 00:00 00 AM
Shajahan Khan to head committee that includes Ilias Kanchan, transport leaders, police, BRTA, BUET, ministry officials
15-member body formed to curb road accidents
Five killed in Cumilla road crash
UNB, Dhaka and Cumilla

15-member body formed to curb road accidents

A 15-member committee, headed by former minister Shahjahan Khan, has been formed to restore discipline in transport sector and curb road accidents on roads across the country, said Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader. The decision was taken at the 26th meeting of National Road Safety Council held at the office of Bangladesh Road Transport Authority (BRTA) on Sunday, he said. The committee will recommend within 14 days how to control road accidents and restore discipline in the road transport sector. Necessary steps will be taken as per recommendations of the committee, said Quader.

The other members of the committee include president of Road Transport Owners Association Mashiur Rahman Ranga , columnist Syed Abdul Maksud, actor Ilias Kanchan and two representatives of Truck and Covered Van Owners Association, representative from BRTA, DIG highway, DIG operation, Accident Research Institute , Buet, Additional police commissioner DMP and representative from Road Transport and Bridges Ministry.

Besides, a three-member committee consisting of Home, Law and Railways Ministers, has been

formed for taking steps in implementing the existing Road Transport Act, he said.

The committee will recommend within 14 days how to enforce the law, said the Minister.

Replying to a question, Obaidul said, "Our

main challenge is to restore discipline in road sector.” Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan, Railways Minister Nurul Islam Sujon, State Minister for Shipping Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury and leaders of transport workers were present at the meeting.

Meanwhile, at least five people were killed and 10 others injured when a bus crashed into a truck from backside on Dhaka-Chattogram highway at Gangrai in Chauddagram upazila yesterday morning.

The deceased were identified as Aslam Mollah, 62, resident of Chandramohon Uttarpara village in Khulsi, Hashi, 50, resident of Saahipar village, Salam, 50, resident of Sonahati village, Chaina Hijra, resident of Kashipur of Khulna and Anwar, 50, resident of Kolaroa upazila in Satkhira district.

Mohammad Monjurul Haque, officer-in-charge of Miabazar Highway Police Outpost, said the accident took place around 6:30am as the Fatikchhari Maizbhandar Darbar Sharif bound bus from Khulna crashed into the truck, leaving five bus passengers dead on the spot and ten injured. Meanwhile, the district administration distributed Tk 15,000 to each of the victim families.