POST TIME: 6 January, 2019 09:08:41 PM
New faces in the new cabinet
Independent Online Desk

New faces in the new cabinet

The 47-member new cabinet is going to have 31 new faces, including Md Tajul Islam, AK Abdul Momen, Tipu Munshi and SM Rezaul Karim.

Of them, 12 will be inducted into the cabinet as ministers while 16 as state ministers and three as deputy ministers. 

There will be 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers in the new cabinet to be constituted under the leadership of Awami League President Sheikh Hasina.

The 12 new faces to be ministers are Md Abdur Razzaque (Agriculture), Mohammad Hasan Mahmud (Information), Md Tajul Islam (Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives), Dr Dipu Moni (Education), AK Abdul Momen (Foreign Affairs),  Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun (Industries), Golam Dastagir Gazi (Textiles and Jute), Sadhan Chandra Majumder (Food), Tipu Munshi (Commerce), SM Rezaul Karim (Housing and Public Works), Md Shahab Uddin (Environment, Forest and Climate Change) and Md Nurul Islam Sujan (Railways).

Of them, Md Abdur Razzaque, Mohammad Hasan Mahmud and Dr Dipu Moni were ministers after Awami League formed the government in 2009.

Besides, the portfolio of incumbent Planning Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal Finance Minister will be changed to Finance Minister while four state ministers of the outgoing cabinet are set to be promoted as ministers.

The four incumbent state ministers are MA Mannan (Planning), Zahid Maleque (Health and Family Welfare), Nuruzzaman Ahmed (Social Welfare), Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing (Chattogram Hill Tracts Affairs) and Saifuzzaman Chowdhury (Land).
Also two technocrat ministers -- Yeafesh Osman (Science and Technology-Technocrat), Mustafa Jabbar (Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology-Technocrat) -- who resigned before the December 30 general election will be kept in the new cabinet.
The 16 new faces who will be made state ministers are Kamal Ahmed Majumder (Industries), Imran Ahmad (Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment), Md Zahid Ahsan Russel (Youth and Sports), Md Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru (Fisheries and Livestock), Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury (Shipping), Begum Monnuzan Sufian (Labour and Employment), Md Zakir Hossain (Primary and Mass Education), Farhad Hossain (Public Administration), Shawpan Bhattacharjee (LGRD and Cooperatives), Jahid Faruk (Water Resources), Md Murad Hasan (Health and Family Welfare), Sharif Ahmed (Social Welfare), KM Khalid (Cultural Affairs), Md Enamur Rahman (Disaster Management and Relief), Md Mahbub Ali (Civil Aviation and Tourism) and Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah (Religious Affairs-Technocrat). 

Among them, Begum Monnuzan Sufian was also state minister for Labour and Employment during the 2009-2014 tenure of the Awami League government.

Besides, all the three would-be deputy ministers are new faces. The deputy ministers are Begum Habibun Nahar (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), AKM Enamul Haque Shamim (Water Resources) and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury (Education).

The members of the upcoming cabinet will take oath at Bangabhaban at 3:30pm on Monday.

The official gazette on the new cabinet will be published immediately after the oath-taking ceremony, Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam while briefing reporters on Sunday afternoon.

With the publication of the gazette, the outgoing cabinet will be abolished, he said.UNB.