POST TIME: 15 September, 2018 01:51:44 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 15 September, 2018 07:52:46 AM
Bangladesh look to win first ever title
Curtain of Asia Cup Cricket raises today in UAE
Sports Reporter

Bangladesh look to win first ever title

The curtain of the ACC 2018 Asia Cup will be raised with the Group-B match of Bangladesh and Sri Lanka at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai, United Arab Emirates today.

The 50-over match, a day-night affair, will begin at BST 5.30pm. Star Sports Network will live telecast the match from the ground where a couple of new pitches have been built on the eve of the fourteenth edition.

Both Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are grappling with injuries ahead of their game of the Asia Cup in Dubai.

For Bangladesh, iconic all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan needs a surgical operation on his left little finger but has pushed it back till after the Asia Cup. Hard-hitting opener Tamim Iqbal has a swollen right ring finger and off-spinner Nazmul Islam Apu has an injury in his bowling hand.

Despite their injury concern, Bangladesh headed to Dubai for the Asia Cup few days earlier of the meet to dovetail with the weather and condition.

Sri Lanka on the other hand sent Danuskha Gunathilaka home even before the start of the tournament with a lower hand problem. Shehan Jayasuriya included in place of Gunathilaka after Dinesh Chandimal, who was out with a finger injury.

Despite all these drawbacks, there is a fair bit of excitement around Dubai (and Abu Dhabi, the other venue for the tournament) especially among the migrant workforces in the UAE is expected to be at the venues in force. They all will expect a great contest to start off with.

Bangladesh come into the tournament on the back of a 2-1 series win over the West Indies in the Caribbean Islands, while Sri Lanka’s lost their last five-match home series against South Africa. But they will have some momentum after having won the last two games of that series.

If recent bilateral history is anything to pass by, the team currently coached by Chandika Hathurusingha thrashed the team formerly coached by the same man twice on the trot to win the triangular series in Dhaka in January.

The Bangladesh boys, however, had their revenge in the Nidahas Trophy against the hosts, and come into this tournament as the higher-ranked of the two teams.

Bangladesh have picked a full-strength side with the cream players- Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim along with Mustafizur Rahman- be all there.

With the exit of Chandimal, Sri Lanka can’t quite make the same claim, but their squad looks enough stronger on papers too. Angelo Mathews has tremendous experience and class, qualities that aren’t lacking in the core of Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Suranga Lakmal or the returning Lasith Malinga either.

The return of Malinga, indeed, will boost them in the lead-up to the event though the paceman not having played any international cricket since September last year. But despite the presence of Lakmal and Malinga, Akila Dananjaya, the off-spinner with a big bag of tricks, could well be the frontman of the bowling attack on the Dubai slowish tracks.

With Afghanistan- the third team in the group, both Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will attempt to make a good start to the tournament and make sure so that they don’t fall behind in the contest for the Super Four. For that, they need a big performance up front.


Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Ariful Haque, Mominul Haque, Abu Hider, Rubel Hossain, Tamim Iqbal, Nazmul Islam, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Khaleel Ahmed, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Shardul Thakur

Pakistan squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari

Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Amila Aponso, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Kasun Rajitha, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Upul Tharanga

Afghanistan squad: Asghar Afghan (c), Javed Ahmadi, Munir Ahmad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Aftab Alam, Ihsanullah, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Shahzad, Samiullah Shenwari, Sayed Shirzad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran

Hong Kong squad: Anshuman Rath (c), Aizaz Khan, Arshad Mohammad, Babar Hayat, Christopher Carter, Ehsan Khan, Ehsan nawaz, Cameron McAuslan, Scott McKechnie, Nadeem Ahmed, Nizakat Khan, Kinchit Shah, Jhatavedh Subramanyan, Tanwir Afzal, Waqas Khan

ACC Asia Cup schedule

Group Stage

15 Sept: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)

16 Sept: Pakistan vs Hong Kong (Dubai)

17 Sept: Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

18 Sept: India vs Hong Kong (Dubai)

19 Sept: India vs Pakistan (Dubai)

20 Sept: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four

21 Sept: Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)

21 Sept: Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

23 Sept: Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)

23 Sept: Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

25 Sept: Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)

26 Sept: Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)


28 Sept: Asia Cup 2018 Final (Dubai)

Note: All the matches will begin at 5.30pm BST.

Roll of honour

Year       Format Host Nation        Winner Runner-up

1984       ODI        United Arab Emirates     India      Sri Lanka

1986       ODI        Sri Lanka              Sri Lanka              Pakistan

1988       ODI        Bangladesh         India      Sri Lanka

1990/91                ODI        India      India      Sri Lanka

1995       ODI        United Arab Emirates     India      Sri Lanka

1997       ODI        Sri Lanka              Sri Lanka              India

2000       ODI        Bangladesh         Pakistan               Sri Lanka

2004       ODI        Sri Lanka              Sri Lanka              India

2008       ODI        Pakistan               Sri Lanka              India

2010       ODI        Sri Lanka              India      Sri Lanka

2012       ODI        Bangladesh         Pakistan               Bangladesh

2014       ODI        Bangladesh         Sri Lanka              Pakistan

2016       T20I        Bangladesh         India      Bangladesh

Records and statistics


Highest score     Virat Kohli (IND)               183 (2012)

Most runs in a tournament          S Jayasuriya (SL)               378 (2008)

Highest average               MS Dhoni (IND)                95.16 (2008–2012)

Most ducks         Salman Butt (PAK)           3 (2008–2010)

                Aminul Islam (BD)            3 (1988–2000)

                Mahela Jayawardene (SL)            3 (2000–2014)

Most hundreds Sanath Jayasuriya (SL)    6 (1990–2008)

Most fifties and over      Kumar Sangakkara (SL)  12 (2004–2014)

Highest strike rate           Shahid Afridi (PAK)          140.74 (1997–2014)

Highest partnership        M Hafeez & N Jamshed (PAK)    224 (2012)


Best bowling figures       Ajantha Mendis (SL)       6/13 (2008)

Most wickets in a tournament   Ajantha Mendis (SL)       17 (2008)

Most 5 wickets in an innings        Lasith Malinga (SL)           3 (2004–2014)