POST TIME: 6 September, 2018 00:00 00 AM
BCB changes U-19 Asia Cup venues
Sports Reporter

BCB changes U-19 Asia Cup venues

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) brought changes in venues of the upcoming ACC Under-19 Asia Cup as precaution as the board predicts that the seasonal rains could start pouring like the previous years during the period of the tournament.

Bangladesh will host the tournament for the youths, the event which will be held in between September (29) and October (7) while Bangladesh witnessed heavy downpours in the country.

Chattogram and Cox’s Bazar were slatted to host all the matches of the eight-team tournament. Of them, the drainage systems of the Cox’s Bazar venues are not so good like Dhaka and Chattogram. So, the board shifted all the matches of Cox’s Bazar to Dhaka.

AEM Kawser, senior national manager of the BCB Games Development, said admitting the matter that they have changed the venues for some matches.   

As per the changes, Cox’s Bazar’s Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium and its academy ground which were scheduled to host those matches of the event will be shifted to Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Prothisthan (BKSP).

Along with that, Zahur Ahmed Chowhdury Stadium and MA Aziz Stadium, which were slatted to host the matches of the event including group phase, semifinals and final that have been shifted to Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium barring group phase matches.

Bangladesh have been drawn in the same group with Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Hong Kong, while India, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Nepal and Afghanistan form the other group.

Currently, the 23-member Bangladesh squad is in Chattogramm for three-week-long training programme under the supervision of the head coach Naveed Nawaz, who was assisted by local coaches.

The newly-minted team, whose players mostly come from the U-18 Challenge Series, will play two practice matches against the High Performance (HP) team on September 12 and 14 respectively.

Therefore, the board will announce the final 15-member youth Tigers squad for the Asia Cup.