POST TIME: 5 September, 2018 00:00 00 AM
Salam Murshedy elected MP uncontested

Salam Murshedy elected MP uncontested

Awami League candidate Abdus Salam Murshedy has been elected MP uncontested as there was no other contender for the by-election to Khulna-4 constituency, reports UNB. Returning officer Yunus Ali, also Khulna divisional election officer, declared him elected yesterday morning.

Earlier on August 26, Abdus Salam Murshedy, a former national footballer and ex-president of Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BGMEA), submitted his nomination paper as the lone candidate for contesting the by-polls.Two other candidates who collected nomination forms did not submit those.

The by-election to Khulna-4 comprising of Rupsa, Terokhada and Dighalia was scheduled to be held on September 20.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of AL's three-time MP SM Mostafa Rashidi Suja on July 26 last.