POST TIME: 8 August, 2018 07:04:20 PM
Smart NID card distribution begins in 27 districts
Independent Online Desk

Smart NID card distribution begins in 27 districts

The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday started distribution of smart national identity (NID) cards in 27 districts of the country in the second phase.

Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda formally inaugurated the distribution programme through a video-conference from the Nirbachan Bhaban in the city’s Agargaon area.

The Election Commissioners, the Secretary of the EC Secretariat and other officials concerned were present on the occasion.

The smart NID cards were distributed today at Sadar upazilas of Manikganj, Munshiganj, Narsingdi, Sherpur, Jamalpur, Mymensingh, Tangail, Kishoreganj, Brahmanbaria, Lakshmipur, Chandpur, Feni, Natore, Chapai Nawabganj, Sirajganj, Naogaon, Chuadanga, Magura, Jhenaidah, Satkhira, Kushtia, Jessore, Rajbari, Madaripur, Bhola and Moulvibazar districts and at Bhanga upazila of Faridpur district, BSS reports.

Smart cards will be distributed in other upazilas of the districts gradually, according to EC officials.

Earlier, the EC started smart NID card distribution in 37 districts simultaneously through a video-conferencing on December 1, 2017.

At present, there are around 10.5 crore voters in the country and the EC has a plan to distribute smart NID cards among all voters.