POST TIME: 15 September, 2015 00:00 00 AM
Mymensingh becomes 8th admin division

Mymensingh becomes 
8th admin division

The government has given the go ahead to form a new administrative division with Mymensingh as its divisional centre.
The National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (NICAR) yesterday approved to form the Mymensingh Division to be the 8th division of the country.
The came at a NICAR meeting held at the secretariat with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.
Meeting sources said, among the six districts of the greater Mymensingh region, Mymensingh, Jamalpur, Sherpur and Netrakona districts will be under the new division while Tangail and Kishoreganj districts will remain with the Dhaka Division.
Secretary of Cabinet Division (Coordination and Reforms) Nazrul Islam told The Independent that the public administration ministry will issue a gazette notification over this issue soon.
“After issuing the circular, the authorities concerned will take initiative to set up 34 government offices including a divisional office in Mymensing. And then manpower of the offices including a divisional commissioner and a Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of police would be appointed for starting the administrative activities of the newly formed division,” he said.
Senior Secretary of Public Administration Ministry Dr Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury told this correspondent that they will issue a circular of forming Mymensing Division after getting minutes of the NICAR meeting.
The New division will cover a total of 10,585 square kilometres with a population of 113,69,606.
The Monday’s NICAR meeting also decided to form Bhandaria municipality under the Pirojpur district, expanded the area of Homna municipality in Comilla district and set up a new police station by dividing the area of Muradnagar Police Station under the same district.