POST TIME: 8 July, 2018 00:00 00 AM
PM to distribute ‘National Film Award 2016’ today

PM to distribute ‘National Film Award 2016’ today

The National Film Awards-2016 will be distributed through a gala function at 3.30pm at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC) in the capital today, reports BSS.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the awards, the highest recognition for contribution to the film industry, said Information Ministry sources.

The Ministry of Information and Bangladesh Film Development Corporation (BFDC) are jointly organizing the function, the sources said.

Two popular Dhallywood actors Dilara Hanif Purnima and Ferdous Ahmed will be the anchors of the event while noted actors of the industry, including Riaz, Popy, Amin Khan, Zayed Khan, Emon, Apu Biswas, Shahara, Shimla, Tama Mirza, Symon Sadik and more will perform at the function.

On April 4, the information ministry published a gazette notification on its website with names of the National Film Award recipients for the year 2016. A total of 29 artists and performers will be awarded in 26 categories for their outstanding contributions to the industry.

As per the gazette, Farida Akhter, better known by her screen name Babita, and Akbar Hossain Pathan, also better known by his screen name Faruq, have jointly been awarded the lifetime awards.

‘Oggatonama’ has been awarded as the best film of the year and its producer Faridur Reza Sagar has been mentioned as the awardee for it.

S M Kamrul Ahsan has been awarded for his film ‘Ghran’ as the best film producer in the short film category.

In the best documentary category, ‘Janmosarothi’ has been awarded the best film and Ekattur Media Ltd and Muktijuddho Jadughar have been jointly awarded for it.

Amitabh Reza Chowdhury has been awarded the best director award for his film ‘Aynabaji’.

Suchinta Chowdhury Chanchal, better known by his screen name Chanchal Chowdhury, has been adjudged the best actor in the principal role for the film ‘Aynabaji’.

The best principal actress award went to Nusrat Imroz Tisha and Kushum Sikder jointly for their films ‘Ostitto’ and ‘Shankhachil’ respectively.

The best supporting actor award went to Ali Raz and Fazlur Rahman Babu jointly for their films ‘Pure Jay Mon’ and ‘Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabe’ respectively.

The best supporting actress award went to Tania Ahmed for her film ‘Krishnapakha’.

Shahiduzzaman Selim was awarded the best villain in the film ‘Oggatonama’.

The best child actor award went to Anum Rahman Khan (Sajhbati) for her role in the film ‘Shankhachil’.

Emon Saha bagged the best music director’s award for the film ‘Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabe’.

Md Habib was adjudged the best dance director for the film ‘Niyoti’.

Wakil Ahmed was adjudged the best male singer for his song ‘Amrito Megher Bari’ in the film ‘Darpan Bisharjan’.

Meher Afroz Shaon was adjudged the best female singer for her song ‘Jodi Mon Kandey Tumi Choley Esho’ in the film “Krishnapakha”.

Gazi Mazharul Anwar was adjudged as the best lyricist for his song ‘Bidhirey, O Bidhi Bidhi’ in the film ‘Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabe’.

Emon Saha was adjudged as giving the best tune for the song ‘Bidhirey, O Bidhi Bidhi…’

Tauquir Ahmed was adjudged the best story writer for the film ‘Oggatonama’.

The best script writer award went jointly to Onom Biswas and Goushul Azam for the film ‘Aynabaji’.

Syeda Rubaiyat Hossain was awarded as the best dialogue writer for the film ‘Under Construction’.

The best editor award went to Iqbal Ahsanul Kabir for the film ‘Aynabaji’.

Uttam Guha was adjudged the best art director for the film ‘Shankhachil’. Rashed Zaman was adjudged as the best cinematographer for the film ‘Aynabaji’. Ripon Nath was adjudged the best sound recordist for the film ‘Aynabaji’.

The best dress and decoration award jointly went to Sattar and Farzana Shan for the films ‘Niyoti’ and ‘Aynabaji’ respectively.

Manik was adjudged as the best make-up man for the film ‘Under Construction’.