POST TIME: 14 March, 2018 00:00 00 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 14 March, 2018 01:45:08 AM
Brahmanbaria, Gaibandha by-polls
AL, JP candidates win
Our correspondent

AL, JP candidates win

Awami League candidate Bodruddoza M Farhad Hossain won in Brahmanbaria-1 while Jatiya Party candidate Shameem Haider Patwary won in Gaibandha-1 by-polls held yesterday. Ruling Awami League candidate Bodruddoza M Farhad Hossain was unofficially declared the winner of the by-polls for the Brahmanbaria-1 constituency and as per the results announced, Farhad bagged 81,386 votes while his nearest candidate Rezwan Ahmed of Jatiya Party secured 33,258 votes.

In Gaibandha, as per the results announced, Shamim bagged 78,926 votes while his nearest Awami League candidate Afruza Bari secured 68,913 votes, said returning officer GM Sahatabuddin.

Earlier, the by-elections to Brahmanbaria-1 and Gaibandha -1 constituencies were held peacefully beginning at 8 in the morning amid a festive mood. The participation of voters was thin in the early hours and started to increase as the day progressed. Voting in both the constituencies started at 8am and ended at 4pm at a stretch without any major untoward incidents.

Following the death of lawmaker Sayedul Hoque, Fisheries and Livestock Minister and an Awami League leader, the Brahmanbaria-1 seat fell vacant, reports our correspondent from Brahmanbaria. Sayedul Hoque passed away on December 16 last at a hospital in the capital at the age of 75. The contestants of Brahmanbaria -1 constituency were Bodruddoza M Farhad Hossain of Awami League, Rezwan Ahmed of Jatiya Party and Abul Kashem Mohammad Asraful Haque of Islami Oikya Jote.

The constituency has a total of 214,009 people, and 110,410 are of them are male while 103,599 are female.  A total of 39 mobile teams (three in each union) discharged their duties at 13 unions in the constituency while additional security measures were taken at 49 risky polling centres as  well.  In the evening, Jatiya Party candidate Rezwan Ahmed held an immediate press conference at Nasirnagar Press Club alleging that police and Awami League activists were thumping seals in polling centres to win Awami League candidate in this the by-election.

He also alleged that he had altercations with police and presiding officers as his polling agents were forced had to leave 10 polling centres.  

To ensure the peaceful voting, Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), Rapid Action Battalion, police and Ansar were deployed in 74 polling centres in this constituency.

Meanwhile in Gaibandha, in 109 polling centres of the constituency, the voting began at 8am and ended at 4pm without any break, adds UNB. The constituency has around 338,000 people and 164,934 of them are male voters while 173,622 are female voters.  The aspiring candidates of the constituency are-Awami League candidate Afruza Bari, Jatiya Party candidate Barrister Shamim Haidar Patwary, National People's Party (NPP) candidate Zia Jaman and Gono Front candidate Md Shariful Islam.

Adequate security measures were taken to ensure holding the election in a peaceful manner. A total of 43 mobile teams, including three River Police patrol teams and three border patrol teams, were deployed in the voting areas. The seat fell vacant following the death of Gaibandha-1 MP Golam Mostafa on December 19 from his injuries he suffered in a road accident a month earlier.

Earlier on March 22, 2017, another by-election was held in the constituency which fell vacant too following the murder of ruling Awami League lawmaker Manzurul Islam Liton in December, 2016.