POST TIME: 6 March, 2018 09:11:13 PM
Mash bags four in a row as Abahani beat Agrani Bank by 11 runs
Independent Online Desk

Mash bags four in a row as Abahani beat Agrani Bank by 11 runs

Mashrafe Mortaza, Bangladesh cricket team’s ODI captain, picked four wickets in successive balls  in a Dhaka Premier League match against Agrani Bank at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah on Tuesday.

The feat also helped Abahani win the close match by 11 runs.

Favoured by coin, Abahani Limited piled up a challenging total of 290 runs for 6 in allocated 50 overs featuring an unbeaten knock of 133 by one down Nazmul Hossain Shanta, adds UNB.

Shanta furnished his 123-ball innings with eleven boundaries and three over boundaries and was adjudged man of the match.   
Besides, lower order Mohammad Mithun quick-fired 38-ball 46 runs hitting three fours and a six, captain Nasir Hossain scored 32-ball 25 runs, including two fours, opener Saif Hassan made 40-ball 24 runs featuring two fours and a six and national coloured opener Anamul Haque scored 33-ball 23 runs hitting four boundaries.

National coloured pacer Al-Amin Hossain and Salman Hossain claimed two wickets each giving away 55 and 40 runs respectively while Shafiul Islam and veteran spinner Abdur Razzak took one wicket each.

In reply, Agrani Bank CC fought hard for their existence and were all out for 279 runs in 49.5 overs despite a century by national opener Shahriar Nafees.

After the departure of two top batsmen for 63 runs, opener Shahriar Nafees pairing with two down Raza Ali Dar repaired the early damage scoring 146 runs in the 3rd wicket stand. 

Nafees hammered 121 runs off 119 balls hitting 13 fours and three sixes. Raza Ali Dar contributed 80-ball 62 runs, including five fours, Dhiman Ghosh scored 27-ball 46 runs with four fours and two sixes and opener Azmir Ahmed hit 21 off 40 balls with two sixes. 

Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza made the major damage to the bankers’ innings grabbing six wickets for 44 runs in his 9.5-over spell.

Ariful Hasan bagged two for 57 runs while Sunzamul Islam and Mana Sharma took one wicket each.