POST TIME: 1 March, 2018 00:00 00 AM
Brothers defy Shuvagata’s ton
Khelaghar, Prime Bank win other two matches
Sports Reporter

Brothers defy Shuvagata’s ton

Taibur Rahman Parvez of Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity plays a shot against Kalabagan KC during their Dhaka Premier Cricket League match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital yesterday. BCB Photo

Shuvagata Hom’s hundred went in vain as Brothers Union Limited stroke to a five-wicket win over newly-entrant Shinepukur Cricket Club in the sixth-round fixture of the Walton-Dhaka Premier League (DPL) at the BKSP in Savar yesterday. The fight between two minnows, Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity triumphed over Kalabagan Krira Chakra with 15 runs at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Elsewhere at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Prime Bank Cricket Club thrashed Agrani Bank Cricket Club by 42 runs. Shinepukur vs Brothers Shinepukur Cricket Club fell into initial batting collapse after opting to bat first as they mislaid four top-order batsmen in the space of 67 runs. It’s right-arm off-break Iftekhar Sajjad, who struck first in the Shinepukur tent. Mehedi Hasan Rana, Shakhawat Hossain and Suhrawardi Shuvo then followed Sajjad footsteps and took up one by one wicket.

Together with Afif Hossain, captain Shuvagata Hom attempted to make a gritty resistance and plundered 143 for the fifth-wicket stand that surpassed the 200-run mark.

Before being caught, the promising Afif clattered 68 off 77 with two sixes and five boundaries.

Hom, thereby, tried to stretch the total with the help of his fellow batsmen. After losing Mohammad Saifuddin cheaply, the captain added a useful 65 runs with Minhaz Khan for the seventh-wicket. Minhaz finally fell for 24. Shuvagata Hom was the last batsman to fall for Shinepukur before being scored a fighting 288 for eight in 50 overs.

The national discard all-rounder clubbed a dozen boundary along with four maximum in his 98-ball 116.

Suhrawardi Shuvo grabbed three wickets, while Khaled Ahmed claimed a brace for the Brothers Union.

In reply, Brothers Union Limited though lost Mizanur Rahman for 54 did not look back as Myshukur Rahman partnered with Zunaid Siddique and Debabrata Das pulled together 61 runs second-wicket with Zunaid, who holed out for 31 and another invaluable 69 runs third-wicket Debabrata Das on way to top-score with 88. He clobbered three sixes and half dozen fours in his 88 off 107.

Shiliguri-born Debabrata struck 72 runs for the fourth-wicket with Yasir Ali, who later sailed through the team. Debabrata brought up his first fifty-plus score after Myshukur, who earned the player of the match award. His 60-ball 75 contained four sixes and five fours before being bowled by Mohamamd Saifuddin.  Yasir was at stumps on 45, hitting two sixes and as many fours.  

Kalabagan vs Khelaghar

Put in to bat, Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity overcame the initial losses and compiled 238 in 50 overs thanks largely to Ashok Menaria’s 95. Khelaghar’s Indian recruitment fell five runs shy of his century. He faced 98 balls, where in he clouted four sixes and seven fours to depart on 95.

Amit Majumder (42), Mahidul Islam Ankon (25), Robiul Islam Robi (21) and Masum Khan (18) were the other notable scorers for Khelaghar.

Rahatul Ferdous scalped three wickets,, while Muktar Ali and Nahid Hasan took two wickets each for Kalabagan.

Chasing the target, Kalabagan Krira Chakra fell into the devastation from the Robiul Islam Robi and Hasan Mahmud and lost five wickets to put on 14 runs on the board what they could not minimize to the end. The duo picked up five wickets between them. Hasan bagged three while Robi captured two wickets to concede 47 and 24 runs respectively.

Taibur Rahman Parvez together with Abul Hasan Raju tried to break the shambles of the Khelaghar bowling attack and hit 136 runs for the eight wickets but that was not enough to hunt down the target. Both Parvez and Raju scored fifty plus score before falling. Parvez cracked 81, while Raju 76. Riding on Sanjit Saha’s late fire of 26-ball 31, Kalabagan finally were able to score 223 for nine in 50 overs.

Prime Bank vs Agrani Bank

Prime Bank Cricket Club made a flying start through their openers- Mehedi Maruf and Mehrab Hossain Junior, who both struck half centuries that laid a strong ground for them. Maruf bashed for 54 and Mehrab lashed for 52.

Delwar Hossain (not out 41), Ariful Haque (39), Al Amin (25), Nahidul Islam (21) and Yusuf Pathan (21) boosted the total of 272 for eight in 50 overs.

Agrani Bank Cricket Club, in reply, fumbled to lose three wickets inside six overs. Raza Ali Dar and Dhiman Ghosh hit 95 runs for the fourth-wicket before Dar’s exit for 42. Later Ghosh tried to build up a resistance with Jahid Javed but that was not enough to avert the blushes. Wicketkeeper-batsman Dhiman got out for 73 and Jahid Javed was on 48 not out.