POST TIME: 1 March, 2018 00:00 00 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 1 March, 2018 01:04:55 AM
US State Department had designated 40 IS men dating back to 2011 aimed at denying their access to US financial system
‘ISIS-Bangladesh’ placed on US sanctions lis
Treasury dept puts 7 groups, 2 individuals from 6 countries on list
Staff Reporter

‘ISIS-Bangladesh’ placed on US sanctions lis

The US Treasury Department has put “ISIS-Bangladesh” on its sanctions list that contains two individuals and seven groups from six countries as the country ‘moves to check global terrorism’. Apart from ISIS-Bangladesh, other groups are from Egypt, the Philippines, Somalia, Nigeria and Tunisia while the individuals are Abu Musab Al-Barnawi of Nigeria and Mahad Moalim of Somalia, according to the website of Treasury's Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC). A statement issued by the US State Department says it had designated 40 Islamic State leaders and operatives dating back to 2011 under an order aimed at denying their access to the US financial system.

US state secretary Rex Tillerson said, “I hereby determine that the person known as ISIS-Bangladesh… or poses a significant risk of committing, acts of terrorism that threaten the security of U.S. nationals or the national security, foreign policy, or economy of the United States.”

The statement said, “These designations are part of a larger comprehensive plan to defeat ISIS that, in coordination with the 75-member Global Coalition to Defeat ISIS, has made significant progress toward that goal.”

“This whole-of-government effort is destroying ISIS in its safe havens, denying its ability to recruit foreign terrorist fighters, stifling its financial resources, negating the false propaganda it disseminates over the internet and social media, and helping to stabilize liberated areas in Iraq and Syria so the displaced can return to their homes and begin to rebuild their lives,” the statement added.

Earlier the following ISIS suspects from different countries were included in the US list: Siddhartha Dhar, Abdelatif Gaini, Brandon-Lee Thulsie, Tony-Lee Thulsie, Ahmad Alkhald, Abu Yahya al-Iraqi, Mohammad Shafi Armar, Oussama Ahmad Atar, Mohammed Isa Yousif Saqar Al Binali, Marwan Ibrahim Hussayn Tah al-Azawi, Muhammad al-Isawi, Mubarak Mohammed A Alotaibi, Farah Mohamed Shirdon, Anjem Choudary, El Shafee Elsheikh, Mark John Taylor, Shane Dominic Crawford,

Alexanda Amon Kotey, Abdelilah Himich, Basil Hassan, Abdullah Ahmed al-Meshedani, Anas El Abboubi(ISIL), Abdiqadir Mumin, Mohamed Abrini, Aslan Avgazarovich Byutukaev (ISIL-CP), Salah Abdeslam, Rustam Aselderov (ISIL-CP), Emilie Konig, Boubaker Hakim, Maxime Hauchard, Shamil Izmaylov, Nasser Muthana, Sally Jones, Gulmurod Khalimov, Denis Cuspert, Amru al-Absi, Salim Benghalem, Lavdrim Muhaxheri, Abu Mohammed al-Adnani and Ibrahim ‘Awwad Ibrahim ‘Ali al-Badri (Abu Du’a).