POST TIME: 16 February, 2018 00:00 00 AM
Shuvo leads MSC from front
Sports Reporter

Shuvo leads MSC from front

Shamsur Rahman Shuvo

Shamsur Rahman Shuvo’s marauding unbeaten hundred propelled Mohammedan Sporting Club to a five-wicket victory over Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club in the third round fixture of the Walton-Dhaka Premier League (DPL) at the BKSP-3 yesterday.

By virtue of the triumph, Mohammedan actually tasted their maiden victory following their back-to-back drubbing to Brothers Union and then Legends of Rupganj.

Abdul Maziad smashed century as Legends of Rupganj trounced Prime Bank Cricket Club by 24 runs at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium.

Elsewhere at BKSP-4, Towhid Hridoy’s sparking unbeaten century went in vain as Agrani Bank Cricket Club romped to a five-wicket win over Shinepukur Cricket club.

Mohammedan vs Sk Jamal

Captain Shamsur Rahman decided to use his bowling battery against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmodi Club after winning the toss on BKSP’s batting track. Sheikh Jamal made a rock-solid start through their opening stand-Shykat Ali and Hasanuzzaman. Although Hasanuzzaman got out for 33, Shykat then attempted to rotate the strike with the support of Rakin Ahmed but Dhanmondi Club witnessed a mini-collapse that started with Shykat Ali-Rangi-Elias Sunny in the space of 32 runs while the team was stuttering at 131 for four in 29 overs.

Before being caught out, both Shykat and Rakin Ahmed struck half century. Shykat smacked five fours and a pair of sixes to make 53-ball 50, while Rakin clouted 64 off 91 with seven boundaries.

Captain Nurul Hasan Sohan then stretched the total and compiled a respectable score of 287 on the board. Sohan was the last batman to fall for Sheikh Jamal. This national discard wicketkeeper-batsman hit 77 off 59 with seven fours before having run-out.

Spinner Taijul Islam and pacer Subashis Roy evenly shared six wickets between them.

Mohammedan Sporting Club in reply fumbled to open their chase when Rony Talukdar walked back to the pavilion with 18-ball duck.

Shamsur Rahman then took up the cudgels and stitched together a string of useful partnerships that changed the complexion of the game alongside sail through the team with five wickets and 11 balls to spare.

En route to his unbeaten 123, Rahman hit 119 second-wicket with Salman Butt, who clubbed 12 fours in his 72-ball 81 and another 112 fourth-wicket with Rakibul Hasan, whose brisk 63 off 49 contained three sixes and seven fours.

Man of the match Shamsur Rahman’s classy unbeaten 123 off 124 that emblazoned with nine boundaries and five sixes.

Prime Bank vs Rupganj

Legends of Rupganj lost their three top-order batsmen after being put in to bat first while they were sprawling at 53 for three. Abdul Mazid clattered 135 with Naeem Islam for the fourth-wicket before the fall of Mazid, who clobbered a six and four-laden knock of 122-ball 110.

Just two runs later, Naeem Islam followed the suits of Mazid but he brought up his 51 off 79. Together with Mosharraf (not out 8), Nazmul Hossain Milon (not out 26) extended the total of 239 for six in 50 overs.

Chasing the target, Prime Bank Cricket Club were bundled out for 215 in48.2 overs in the face of Legends’ trio-Mohamamd Shohid, Asif Hassan and Mosharraf  Hossain. They took nine wickets between them. Al Amin was the bright spot of the Bankers’ innings as he clouted 68.

Shinepukur vs Agrani Bank

Opting to bat first, Shinepukur Cricket Club lost their opener Shadman cheaply. Sabbir Hossain compounded the fuss further while they mislaid other opener when they were at 27-2.

Uday Kaul rescued the team from precarious situation with Towhid Hridoy as they blasted 134 for the third wicket. Kaul though went back for 77, Towhid Hridoy fought for Shinepukur to the end and remained at stumps on 122. His 125-ball innings that featured with eight fours and three sixes. Agrani Bank Cricket Club hunted down the target with five wickets and 19 balls remaining courtesy of trio half century from Dhiman Ghosh (not out 85), Salman Hossain (not out 650 and Azmir Ahmed (51).