POST TIME: 10 February, 2018 00:00 00 AM
Mash all-round show propels Abahani to win
Sports Reporter

Mash all-round show propels Abahani to win

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza’s all-round display set up Abahani Limited to maintain their winnings streak as they thrashed Kalabagan Krira Chakra by 36 runs despite being scored mediocre on the board in the second round fixture of the Walton-Dhaka Premier League (DPL) at the Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Prothisthan (BKSP) ground-3 in Savar yesterday.

A trio of half centuries from Zakir Ali, Nadif Chowdhury and Rajat Bhatia helped defending champion Gazi Group Cricketers vault past Shinepukur Cricket Club by 20 runs at the BKSP-4.

Elsewhere at Fatullah Stadium, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club routed Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity by one wicket in the exciting outing to chalk up their first triumph.

Put in to bat, league-favourites Abahani Limited compiled all-out 217 in 49.5 overs thanks largely to Mashrafe  67 and Nazmul Hossain Shanto’s 55. Shanto cracked 55 off 83 and stitched together a string of partnerships to lay a solid foundation.

Together with Mashrafe, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat hit 98 runs for the seventh wicket stand that superseded 200-run mark. Mashrafe top-scored for the star-studded team with 67. His explosive 54-ball innings that was emblazoned with five sixes and three boundaries.

Chasing the target, Kalabagan fell into Mashrafe bowling onslaught and bundled out for 181. Mashrafe grabbed four wickets for 49 in 9.1 overs. Gazi Group Cricketers piled on 279 for six in the stipulated 50 overs after being sent to bat first.

In reply, Shinepukur Cricket Club made a solid start through their openers- Sadman Islam (40) and Sabbir Hossain (55).

Khelaghar mustered 199 for seven, after which Doleshwar hunt down the target in the last ball of their innings while they had one wicket remaining.