POST TIME: 1 February, 2018 00:00 00 AM
Six young writers, poets awarded
DL Reporter

Six young writers, poets awarded

Recipients of ‘Kali O Kalam Young Poets and Literature Awards 2017’ with the guests. Photo : jaki zaman

Six young writers and poets have been conferred with the prestigious ‘Kali O Kalam Tarun Kabi O Lekhak Purushkar’ (Kali O Kalam Young Poets and Literature Awards) this year. The award ceremony of ‘Kali O Kalam Tarun Kabi O Lekhak Purushkar 2017’ held at the main auditorium of Bangladesh National Museum in the capital on Tuesday.

Presided over by emeritus professor Anisuzzaman, Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu was present as the chief guest at the award ceremony. Besides, eminent Rabindra researcher and writer Martin Kampsen was present as guest of honour while writer Syed Manjurul Islam attended the event as special guest.

This year, ‘Kali O Kalam Tarun Kabi O Lekhak Purushkar’ is distributed in five categories. The winners are--Mizanur Rahman (‘Jumjuyari’) and Hosne Ara Jahan (‘Nishinda Patar Graan’) jointly in poetry, Taposh Roy (‘Ei Besh Atangke Achhi’) in literature, Altaf Shahnewaz (‘Nrityoki’) in essay, research and play, Mamun Siddiqui (‘Muktijuddher Ojana Bhassho’) in Liberation War-based literature and Razib Hasan (‘Haripad O Geliyen’) in children’s literature.

The guests handed over the awards to the recipients. Each of the award winners received a crest, a certificate and prize money worth TK. one lakh in recognition of their brilliant works.

For the tenth time, ‘Kali O Kalam Tarun Kabi O Lekhak Purushkar’ has been distributed to recognize the young talents in the country’s literature world. The award has now become a desirable one to the young writers and poets--the young litterateurs told this while expressing their feelings after receiving the prestigious award. They also said that this award will inspire them to go forward.   

Publisher of Kali O Kalam and Bengal Foundation Chairman Abul Khair delivered welcome speech at the programme. Writer Syed Manjurul Islam and Rabindra researcher and writer Martin Kampsen, among others, also delivered speech at the programme. Kali O Kalam editor Abul Hasnat was also present at the event.

Professor Biswajit Ghosh, Mahbub Sadik and Imdadul Haq Milon read out letters of appreciation about the writers at the award ceremony.

Artist Laisa Ahmed Lisa presented Tagore song at the programme in the end.

To note, Kali O Kalam, a monthly magazine for art, culture and literature, has been awarding this since 2008 while 39 personalities got the award till 2016.