Friday 22 February 2019 ,
Friday 22 February 2019 ,
Latest News
  • Chawakbazar fire virtually repeats 2010 Nimtali tragedy
  • UK deeply saddened over Dhaka fire
  • BNP blames govt's irresponsibility for Chawkbazar fire
  • Shamima not a Bangladeshi citizen; no entry for her: Dhaka
  • Provide proper treatment to Chawkbazar fire victims: PM
  • probe body formed over Chawkbazar fire
  • Death toll jumps to 81 in Chawkbazar fire
5 March, 2018 00:00 00 AM

Ashraful, Tasmul tons propel Kalabagan to down Agrani

Sports Reporter
Ashraful, Tasmul tons propel Kalabagan to down Agrani
Former national team captain Mohammed Ashraful talks to media after leading Kalabagan KC to beat Agrani Bank in the Dhaka Premier Cricket League at BKSP ground yesterday. Courtesy photo

A couple of half-centuries from Mohammad Ashraful and Tasamul Haque propelled Kalabagan Krira Chakra to edge Agrani Bank Cricket Club out by five wickets in the seventh-round fixture of the Walton-Dhaka Premier League (DPL) at the Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Prothisthan (BKSP) in Savar yesterday.

The victory elevated them from the rock-bottom of the league table, which is dominated by Abahani Limited. Now they are languishing at third from the bottom of the points-table before Agrani Bank and Gazi Group Cricketers.

This year league’s another new-entrant Shinepukur Cricket Club thrashed Legends of Rupganj by one wicket in the last-ball thriller at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

By virtue of the triumph, they placed third after table-topper Abahani and Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club leapfrogging Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club and Legends of Rupganj.  

Elsewhere at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity routed Brothers Union Limited by three wickets in the low-scoring affair.

Agrani Bank vs Kalabagan

Newly-entrant Agrani Bank Cricket Club made a rock-solid start through their opening stand of 128 runs from Azmir Ahmed and Shahriar Nafees after being asked to bat first on BKSP’s batting paradise. After the fall of Azmir, who brought up his second half-century (58) that featured with five boundaries and three sixes, Nafees then attempted to extend the innings with his fellow batsmen. The experienced opener shared 30 with Raza Ali Dar (15) for the second-wicket and another 32 with Jahid Javed (20) for the fourth-wicket before being fell one run shy of his league’s first hundred. He clubbed 14 fours and one six in his 125-ball knock.    

The Bankers could not maintain their initial tempo because of missing to build up big partnerships after losing the openers as they managed to put on 252 for nine in 50 overs what Kalabagan Krira Chakra hunted down with five wickets and eight balls to spare (256/5) courtesy of Mohammad Ashraful’s unbeaten 102 and Tasamul Haque’s 106. This was Ashraful’s second hundred in the league, the feat that was studded with 10 boundaries and later was adjudged the player of the match. Tasamul clubbed 12 fours in his 115-ball knock.

Rupganj vs Shinekupur

Riding on century-like innings from Mohammad Naim (93) and Parvez Rasool (88 not out), Legends of Rupganj posted a moderate 268 for three in 50 overs. The duo was assisted by captain Naeem Islam (38), Abdur Mazid (25) and Nazmul Hossain Milon (12 not out) to boost up the total.

Chasing the target, Shinepukur Cricket Club fumbled to lose three top-order batsmen inside 13 overs while they were tottering on 62 for three. Shadman Islam Anik (95) together with Uday Kaul (61) lifted them from precarious condition by hitting 121 runs for the fourth-wicket stand. Just in the gap of 17 runs, both well-set batsmen gone back. At this stage, Shinepukur were needed 69 runs to win the match, the figure what was scored together by Afif Hossain (29), Shuvagata Hom (18), Mohammad Saifuddin (19) and Raihan Uddin (10 not out). Raihan among them finished the proceedings with winning-boundary off Mohammad Shohid, who grabbed three wickets for the losing side.         

Brothers vs Khelaghar

Put in to bat, Brothers Union Limited made a sorrow start as they were bowled out for 187 in 46 overs. Captain Alok Kapali top-scored for Brothers with 66. Suhrawadi Shuvo (33 not out), Zunaid Siddique (21) and Debabrata Das (21) later joined hand together with Kapali to stretch the innings for Brothers.

Hasan Mahmud claimed three wickets and Moinul Islam scalped two wickets for the bowling side.

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity, in reply, pulled off their fourth victory in seven outings with three balls and three wickets remaining. They made a good start that helped them to the end. Ashok Menaria made the team’s highest of 55 off 77 with three fours and one six.

Sadikur Rahman (35), Rafsan Al Mahmud (30), Moinul Islam (22) and Amit Majumder (18) quickened their chase and finally Mohammad Saddam with double sailed through.



Today's Question »
State minister for power Nasrul Hamid yesterday said everyone to have access to electricity by June. Do you think the feat achievable by the timeframe?
 No Comment
Yes 55.3%
No 40.9%
No Comment 3.9%
Most Viewed
Digital Edition
SunMonTueWedThuFri Sat

Copyright © All right reserved.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman

Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman
Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Disclaimer & Privacy Policy
About Us
Contact Us

Powered by : Frog Hosting