Friday 14 August 2020 ,
Friday 14 August 2020 ,
Latest News
  • Working to ensure justice, rights for all: PM
  • Bangladesh reports 34 coronavirus deaths, 1,56,623 total recoveries
  • Digital Security Act govt's weapon to cling to power: BNP
  • Covid-19: India now has 4th highest death toll
  • PM releases stamps, first day covers on Mourning Day
19 February, 2018 00:00 00 AM

Bangladesh surrender to SL meekly

Md Abu Talha Sarker, Sylhet
Bangladesh surrender to SL meekly
Sri Lanka cricketers celebrate after the dismissal of the Bangladesh cricketer Mohammad Saifuddin during their second Twenty20 (T20) match at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium yesterday. AFP photo

Bangladesh missed to come out of the vicious defeat-circle as they meekly surrendered to Sri Lanka and conceded a 75-run defeat in the last T20 fixture of the two-match T20I series at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Sylhet yesterday. With the loss, the injury-hit home side finished their devastating bilateral home series without any win. Taking the chance of Tigers slopping fielding and loose bowling, Sri Lanka piled on a staggering 211 for four after which Bangladesh were skittled out for 135 in 18.4 overs. Chasing the stiff target of 211, Bangladesh fumbled in the very second over to lose their opener Soumya Sarkar, who lashed fifty in the first T20 staging a comeback after being dropped from the Tri-national (one-day) series and then the two-match Test series against the Islanders. Soumya trudged back to the pavilion with four-ball duck.   

Shehan Madushanka, therefore, jolted the hosts’ top-order and compounded the fuss further when he got rid of Mushfiqur Rahim and Mohammad Mithun in the third and last delivery of his second but team’s third over while Bangladesh were stuttering at 22 for three.

Stand-in T20 captain Mahmudullah joined Tamim Iqbal and attempted to break the knuckles of the Sri Lankan bowling attack. The Tigers’ senior duo made a glimmer of hopes in the local crowds but Debutant Amila Aponso didn’t allow them to steady the innings much longer and broke their partnership of 37 runs for the fourth-wicket stand before the fall of Tamim, who returned to the fold ahead of the crucial tour-ending match from bicep injury layoff.

The left-handed opener clattered two sixes and as many boundaries in his 23-ball 29.

Mahmudullah tried to rebuild the innings along with accelerating the strike as asking rates were soaring rapidly.

Before being unfortunate run-out, Mahmudullah hit 42 with Mohammad Saifuddin for the sixth-wicket stand that crossed the 100-run mark. Riyad, who top-scored for Bangladesh, holed out for 41 off 31 that laced with four fours and one six.

With the departure of the Mahmudullah, it was time being for the Tigers to lose the match along with lost the T20 series.     

Earlier, Bangladesh paid the price of the slopping fielding to allow Sri Lanka make a run-fest in the second and series-deciding T20 match at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in which the hosts played their maiden International match.

The visitors, aiming for a tour sweep, compiled a hefty 210 for four, raising the prospect of fulfilling the goal. Opener Kusal Mendis once again led the charge with 42-ball 70, his career best and second successive half-century in the series. All of the batsmen who batted in Lankan innings made a significant contribution to complement Mendis’ innings.

After being sent to bat first, Mendis helped Sri Lanka put on a 98-run opening partnership alongside Danushka Gunathilaka who helped himself with 42 off 37 after being survived twice on 15 and 28 respectively. What was disappointing was that two senior players --Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah put down the chances.

However, both of them destined to a partnership bigger than anticipation, only to be denied by some good bowling half-way through the innings. As boundaries were not coming easily at that phase, Gunathilaka was strangled and looked to for a big shot but holed out to Tamim at long-off off Soumya’s bowling.

Thisara Perera joined Mendis and again accelerated the innings, much to the frustration of Bangladesh. Perera struck 31 off 17 with three fours and one six before he became the maiden International wicket of Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi.

Mustafizur Rahman then gave Bangladesh some relief, taking out dangerous Kusal Mendis, who looked set for a century. However he was out on 70, hitting six fours and three sixes.

Things didn’t pan out the way Bangladesh wanted. Danus Shanaka and Upul Tharanga hit some lusty blows towards the end to propel the side past 200.

Shanaka was not out on 30 off 11, with five fours, four of which came against Mustafizur Rahman and one six. Tharanga was dismissed on 13-ball 25, including four fours and a six.


Sri Lanka innings:

Gunathilaka c Tamim b Soumya     42

K Mendis c Mahedi Hasan b Mustafizur 70

T Perera c Soumya b Chowdhury     31

Tharanga c Soumya b Saifuddin     25

Shanaka not out     30

Chandimal not out     2

Extras (lb 2, nb 1, w 7)     10

TOTAL (4 wkts in 20 Overs)     210

Fall of wickets: 1-98, 2-149, 3-160,


Bowling    O    M    R    W    

Chowdhury    4.0    0    45    1    

Nazmul    4.0    0    28    0    

Mahedi Hasan    2.0    0    25    0    

Mustafizur    4.0    0    39    1    

Saifuddin    4.0    0    46    1    

Soumya    2.0    0    25    1    

Bangladesh innings:

Tamim c Dananjaya b Aponso     29    

Soumya c Mendis b Dananjaya     0

Mushfiqur c T Perera b S Madushanka    6

Mithun c Mendis b S Madushanka    5

Mahmudullah run out (Mendis)    41

Ariful lbw b Mendis     2

Saifuddin c sub b Udana    20

Mahedi Hasan c Udana b Shanaka    11

Mustafizur b Gunathilaka     8

Abu Jayed st Chandimal b Gunathilaka    2

Nazmul not out     1    

Extras (0nb 10w 0b 0lb)     10

Total (4 wkts in 16.4 overs)     194

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-14, 3-22, 4-59,

5-68, 6-110, 7-113, 8-132, 9-132, 10-135

Bowling    O    M    R    W

S Madushanka    2.1    0    23    2

Dananjaya    4.0    1    20    1

Shanaka    1.5    0    5    1

T Perera    3.0    0    33    0

Aponso    4.0    0    31    1

Mendis    1.0    0    8    1

Udana    2.0    0    12    1

Gunathilaka    0.4    0    3    2

Result: Sri Lanka won by 75 runs


More Front Page stories

Copyright © All right reserved.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman

Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman
Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Disclaimer & Privacy Policy
About Us
Contact Us

Powered by : Frog Hosting