Wednesday 17 October 2018 ,
Wednesday 17 October 2018 ,
Latest News
  • BNP leaders’ motorcade comes under attack in Gazipur
  • 20-party still intact, only few leaders quit: BNP
  • Bangladesh moves down in global competitiveness index
  • 2 female ‘militants’ surrender at Narsingdi hideout
  • US, eight others, request briefing on Myanmar Rohingya crackdown
  • Crew dies in cargo vessel fire in Ctg
  • Uttarkhan fire death toll rises to 5
  • Pakistan hangs 6-year-old Zainab's killer
1 January, 2018 00:00 00 AM

76 political parties seek EC registration

Application deadline expires

A total of 76 political parties have applied to the Election Commission (EC) seeking registration as the deadline ended yesterday, reports UNB. Of these, over 50 parties submitted their applications on the last day. The Commission will complete the registration process by March next after examining the applications. "We've received applications from 76 political parties within the deadline," EC acting Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed told reporters in the evening.

Besides, 15 other parties applied to the Commission for extending the application deadline, he said, adding that the deadline will not be extended.

"Now, we'll form a committee to scrutinise the applications and look into whether the parties fulfill the registration conditions. The committee may seek reports from the EC's field-level officials as well as intelligence reports over the applicants," the EC acting secretary said.

The committee will place a list of probable eligible parties before the Commission's meeting to take the final decision over the registration, he said.

"The registration may be completed within March next," Helaluddin said replying to a question.

The 76 parties who applied for the registration are Nakful Bangladesh, Bangladesh Ghush Nirmul Party, Jatiyatabadi Ganotantrik Andolan-NDM, Bangladesh Alokito Party, Bangladesh Karmasangsthan Andolan, Bangladesh National Awami Party (Nap-Bhashani Group), Bangladesh Mangal Party, Bangladesh People Democratic party-BPDP, Bangladesh Ganotantrik Dal-BDP, Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Awami League-BAKSAL, Bangladesh Janata Party, Bangladesh Islamic Gazi, Bangladesh Jalali Party, Bangladesh Republican Party (Rafiqul Islam), Bangladesh Republican Party (Abu Hanif), Insania Biplab Bangladesh, Bangladesh Janata Party, Bangladesh Samaj Unnayan Party-BSDP, Bangladesh Jatiya League, Bangladesh New Sangsad League-BNSL, Bangladesh Paribahan Labour Party, Bangladesh Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Bangladesh Basod, Trinamul National Party, Bangladesh Satyabroto Andolan and National Democratic Party.

The party also include Bangladesh Manobadhikar Andolan, Sonar Bangla Unnayan League, Bangladesh Janata Party, Insaniat Biplob Bangladesh, Bangladesh Samaj Unnayan Party, National Congress Bangladesh, Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Party, Ganotantrik National Awami Party (Bhashani), Bangladesh Ganoshakti Dal, Bangladesh Satota Dal, Bangladesh Trinomul Party, Bengal Jatiya Congress-BJC, Bangladesh Hindu League, Bangladesh Janata Front, Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Party-KSP, Bangladesh Minority Janata Party, Sushil Samajik Andolan, Liberal Party-LP, Bangladesh Ramkrishna Party, Bangladesh United Islami Party, Mukto Rajnaitik Andolan, Bangladesh Jatiya Dal, Jatiya Poribar Kalyan Party, Natun Dhara Bangladesh-NDB, Bangladesh Jatiya League, Sadharan Janata Party, Bangladesh Farayeji Andolan, Ganosonghiti Andolan, Bangladesh Trinomul Congress, Oikya NAP, Bangladesh Liberal Democratic Party-DPLDP, Muktijoddha Communism Democratic Party, Bangladesh Gano Azadi League, Bangladesh Islamic Party, Bangladesh Shantir Dal, Bangladesh Labour Party, Krishak Sramik Party, Janosharthe Bangladesh, Janotar Katha Bole, Bangladesh Trinomul League, Bangladesh Janata Party, Bangladesh Labour Party, Nagorik Oikya, Moulik Bangla, Bangladesh National Democratic Party-BNDP, Bangladesh Democratic Movement-BDM, National Awami Party Bangladesh, Bangladesh Congress, Bangladesh Awami Party-Bhashani Nap, Jamiyate Ulamaye Islam and Nezami Islam Party, and Bangladesh Samadhan Oikya Party (Bosobas) Swadhin Swatantra Ekti Party.

In several cases, the Commission received more than one application seeking the same name.

The Election Commission on October 30 last issued a public notification seeking applications within December 31, 2017 from political parties to get registered with it before the next parliamentary elections.

Now, there are 40 political parties registered with the Election Commission.

In 2013, 43 new political parties applied to the Election Commission seeking registration and the Commission awarded the registration to only two parties a few months before the 2014 national


In 2008 ahead of the 9th general election, a total of 117 political parties applied for the registration following a public notification. But only 39 parties were registered.


Today's Question »
A DU student continued hunger strike yesterday demanding retake of 'Gha' unit entry test over allegations of question leak. Do you think he can change the tide of question leak?
 No Comment
Yes 12.5%
No 50.0%
No Comment 37.5%
Most Viewed
Digital Edition
SunMonTueWedThuFri Sat
More Backpage stories

Copyright © All right reserved.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman

Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman
Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Disclaimer & Privacy Policy
About Us
Contact Us

Powered by : Frog Hosting